top of page
Search
  • annchang999

#10 Shopping in NA | 7th teaching session

Mar 11, 2020 Wed

9:00-10:00 (60min teaching)

Topic: Consumerism

Observation

· To chat with the class for a bit as a transition

· “May I ask…”, “Tell me more”

· DO NOT neglect the students from other countries. E.g. when I ask “what are the receipts like in Japan?” I should’ve asked about China and Saudi Arabia as well.

· Write down the word that students are asking for e.g. the blind/shade

· You can tell when the students are almost done with their conversation

Content

· Write down the question on the board and get the students thinking what they want to do on their last weekend in Vancouver. Walk around and talk to people to get information on what they might do for the last weekend.

· The purpose of this task is to test how well students can handle future tense. Randall did not mention anything about the future tense but talking about his topic, they should.


 

Lesson Plan & Class Materials








Reflection

I am very proud to have created this game for students to practice their speaking skills! Having the experience of working for Artizia as a style adviser (retail associate), I have gained knowledges about how retail associates greet customers and how to sell clothes in north America. I have learned that the shopping culture is very different from that of Asian countries', thus I want to teach my students about these customs and give them a chance to practice. I designed this game to let everyone has the opportunity to be both a retail associate and a customer so they can practice both sides. There is also a trick in the game design, which is, there are some items that are not listed in the style book, so the "customers" can't get the exact same item listed on the mission list, so they have to ask the "retail associate" for similar items, whether similar styles in the same color and size, or the same style in other color or size. This provides them more chances to apply the conversations we've taught in real scenerios.


Again, one of the things I would like to improve is time control. I find it challenging to take back control after activities and discussion sometimes, especially when the students are not ready to present their results yet. However, I found that making use of my teacher voice is helpful when grabbing the students' attention. Raising your voice with the use of body language (high power poses) will let the students know that it is time for me to take back control. If they really need more time to work on their activities or discussion, you may give them more time, but make sure to adjust your lesson plan and think about why more time is needed. Is it because the instruction wasn't clear enough? Or is it becasue the material is too hard for them? Lesson plans should be reviewed and adjusted after each class to optimize the class result.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page