top of page
Search
  • annchang999

#8 Nike Vaporfly | 5th teaching session

Updated: Apr 1, 2020

Mar 5, 2020 Thu

Topic: Sports in the World- The Controversial Nike Vaporfly

Lesson Plan & Class Material




Reflection

· Should go through ALL the instructions together!!! Because there will always be people not being able to catch up (go through the discussion questions together) [Talk about everything that is on the worksheet]

· Be clear of the time allocated

· Give them the outline of today’s class before the activity starts

· BE CLEARER about everything!!!!


This is one of my favorite lessons! I personally came across this video some time ago and find it a good topic to think about. My friend challenged me on debating whether the Olympics should ban Nike Vaporfly, and at first I chose the side where they should not. However, as the debate got heated up, I realized that my opinions are biased and thus I changed my mind, started to think that they should ban it. The experience woke my interest in informal debating, which inspired me to include this activity into my class.


With the former experience, I know now I have to create worksheets with clearer instruction and make sure everyone knows how to conduct the debate. Hence, I designed the worksheet with step-by-step instructions that could help them organize their debate session. The debate turned out to be a success and the studnets enjoyed it a lot. Some of them even inststed on conveying more of their thoughts after class! It was a successful activity to boost their interest in critical thinking and to train therisleves to speak up for their opinions.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page