top of page
Search
  • annchang999

#11 Winning the Lottery | Observation

Lesson Plan & Class Material






OBSERVATION- FEEDBACK FROM DIANNE

· Can teach Hedging for debating

· Good objective and setting the purpose

· Conclusion can be clearer

· Good video selection and going through the video

· Can show the video again if time allows

· Conclusion activity: ask everyone to stand up and share one thing that they learned today and then they can sit down (can be anything)

· Given your nutrition background, you should be great for Curriculum design

· Vocabulary samples should be related to the topic of consumerism or give example relating to the video to help them understand the videos better and add coherence

· Good that you chose the challenging part and wrote down some words that they said wrong or can be improved

· The video was excellent. Important for social psychology

· Remind the review and the scaffolding and the content

· At the end you can ask them “so what did we learn?” and “so what?”

· Make connections with the content and yourself/the world

· The attitude for feedback is good (extending the speaker’s ideas, good eye contact) e.g. yes, and…

· Advice for future: Try to make symmetrical grouping at the very beginning of the program


Final Reflection

After 7 teaching sessions, I have developed my own teaching style and have built a good relationship with the class. I am happy to see that everything was going well accoridng to my lesson plan, although I still needed 5 extra minutes to finish up everything. Still, I feel like time management is the hardest when teaching a big class, especially when your class is involved with a lot of activities or discussions. Other than that, I think the whole class went pretty well and that the students enjoyed it.


I am glad to have finisedh my practicum, but at the same time not ready to say goodbye with the students yet. It is not exaggerating to say that this class is the best class you could ever ask for! Everyone was engaged and willing to present their ideas, and I was very touched when a small group of students came up to me and gave me souvenirs from Japan! The students and I made a promise that I will go visit them in Japan someday, and they will hit me up if they travel to Taiwan. Is has been a blessing to have followed Randall to come teach this class. I will never forget those cute faces and friendly interactions that we have for a short two-week.


And of course, I am very grateful for Randall! With his careful observations and detaield corrections and feedback, I have learned tons of important teaching techniques and discovered things that I need to work on more. Randall is always devoted to leading me to higher-quality teaching and I have indeed observed one of the best quality teaching from him. I cannot thank him enough for sparing his time from his busy schedule to meet me for feedbacks and class material corrections. Most importantly, I cannot thank him enough for being such a good sponsor teacher, guidance, and my friend!



17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page