top of page
Search
  • annchang999

#3 Living in Community-2 | 1st teaching session

Observation

· Gave out

· Vocabulary is uncountable!!!

· Greet the class: What did you do last night? Did you watch TV? Did you go to sleep early?

· They’ll go to Seattle next weekend

· What’s the difference of Subway in Canada and in Japan? (Canada has more choices)

· Open doors when they’re working on their own. Close doors when instructing.

Content

· Writing corrections: Correct the sentences. Work together with your classmates.

· Lead discussion of the correct answers. Do 8 at a time. (walk around to assist students.)

· Reading: Ask a volunteer to read the paragraph.

Objective

· Writing focused

· Grammar: To find, correct, and learn from their grammar mistakes.

· Wording

 

Lesson Plan & Class Material (Self-made)



Reflection

Overall, my first teaching session went pretty well. I spent about 1.5hr designing the worksheets for today and tomorrow’s lesson, and they suit the class’s need and lesson objectives perfectly. After Randall finished his sentence correction and reading activity, I gave out the sheets to everyone and started my first 30min teaching session.


I was not nervous when I was teaching, because I already familiarized myself with the faces. I started my teaching with pointing out the outline of my short session and let them know what they will be expecting during the session. We read the instruction on the worksheet together, and I pointed out some vocabulary that they might not know, to make sure everyone is on the same page.


This lesson is more of a teacher-focused class because it contained a lot of explanations of the signs. However, I tried to give the students as many opportunities as possible to speak out and to apply these signs to their daily lives. I asked them to think about when and where have they seen the signs and assigned students to share their stories about the experience.

One thing I would change about this teaching session is that I should give the students more time to organize their answer when I asked them to share where they have seen the signs. When designing the lesson, I planned on giving them one minute to think about their experience of seeing certain signs and the share with the class. Given their level, I should embrace the silence for a bit longer so they can successfully form a well-rounded answer in their heads and express it.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page