top of page
Search
  • annchang999

#6 Sports in the World-1 | 3rd teaching session

Mar 3, 2020 Tue

9:05-10:15 (70min teaching)

10:15-10:45 (30min observation)

Topic: Sports in the World

Teaching

· Roll call

· Lesson plan

Reflection

· The students think the listening is leaning towards the easy side, which is surprising

· The students seem to enjoy the debating activity

· I think I can make my materials harder! Especially the reading part!

Observation

· Roll call

· Vocab: sedentary

Content

· Is it a listening test or reading activity? Maybe the listening is too hard

· ELI’s EGC is a speaking course

· Don’t need to emphasize the essay format

· Giving them a debate dialogue would’ve been better

· Too quick of an introduction

· Make sure to include everyone’s pinions (be attentive)

· Don’t move on too quickly

· It’s better to let students do your work more. Let them explain

· Reduce teacher center-ness

· Ask them what they know about writing an essay rather than just lecturing

· Be specific and clear about the names. Conjunctions vs. Transitions (transitions don’t include “but”)

· Teach something that they will use it in the futures

· Good to review what we did and why is it important to do those

 

Lesson Plan & Class Materials






Relfection

I enjoyed my first one whole hour teaching session a lot! With my well designed lesson plan and mateirals, all I had to do was to follow my plan and everything went perfectly well. However, one thing that I would like to think upon is whether I should turn on the closed caption for the video or not. Randall pointed out that I have to be clearer about my teaching objectives, if using closed caption, are they really practicing their listening skills or reading skills? After thinking for a long time, my explanation is, they are training both their listenin and reading skills. And the reason why I'd like to train their ability to understand educational videos with the help of subtitles is that this is an increasinly important way of learning. As technology advacnes, a lot of information can only be found on the internet nowadays. Videos, especially, is getting more popular whe it comes to spreading news, conveying ideas, and providing information. I believe It is not exaggerated to say that tudents these days are obligated to train themselves to udnerstand information carried through videos.


Another part that I would like to improve is time management. It would be better if I can give them more time to work on the last page of their sheet, as some groups needed more time to brainstorm more ideas of whether cities should host the Olympics or not. Lastly, I am very happy that I have chosen this topic because the next Olympic games will be held in Tokyo, Japan, where most students in my class are from.




0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page